Bible Questions and Answers

Browse all the questions that have been asked at and see their answers, read the most recent questions and answers, or have a look at some prepared questions and answers on key Bible themes.

There are essentially 6 major covenants:

  1. Covenant in Eden: Promise of redemption through the seed of the woman and the eventual destruction and eradication of sin.  Genesis 3:15
  2. Covenant to Noah: God would never again destroy the earth with a flood. Genesis 9.
  3. Covenant to Abraham: The promised Seed [developed from the Edenic Covenant] through Abraham and his descendants and indeed the whole world would be blessed. The land of Israel promised to Abraham and his seed forever. Paul tells us in Galatians that THE seed of Abraham is the Lord Jesus Christ.  By baptism into Christ we too can become heirs of the promises made to Abrham. Galatians 3:16, 27-29.
  4. Covenant to Moses: the Law which would govern the life of Israel replete with lessons forshadowing the work of the Lord Jesus Christ in sacrifice and offering and holy living. See Exodus thru Deuteronomy. Some try to force another covenant with the Jewish people regarding their blessings and cursings as outlined in Deuteronomy 28 etc. However, this is not a separate covenant but a codicil to the Mosaic covenant.
  5. Covenant to David: The seed of the woman and the seed of Abraham is more narrowly defined to come from the house of David of the tribe of Judah. Here the seed, or now the Messiah, would be a king to sit on David’s  throne forever. See 2 Samuel 7 and cp. Luke 1:32,33.  The promise to David is one of the key covenant promises in the Bible. It, along with the Abrahamic covenant are the pillars upon which the Gospel rests. It is not for nothing that the opening words of the New Testament refer directly to these covenants:  Matthew 1:1 The book of the generation of Jesus Christ, the son of David, the son of Abraham.
  6. The New Covenant: The new covenant in Christ has absorbed all of these other covenants and now stands alone as the only covenant with God which He will accept. We enter into that covenant by faith and baptism and subsequently live our lives according to its teaching.  Jesus the suffering servant, the Lamb of God fulfills the Edenic covenant, being wounded by but yet destroying the power of sin; he fulfills the Noahic in that he will one day lead the earth to a future when it is filled with the glory of God and no longer need be in fear of divine judgement, realizing the promise of the rainbow; the Mosaic covenant is fulfilled in him in his sacrifice and holy life; the Davidic in his Royal responsibilities in the coming Kingdom of God.

Here is a link to information you might find helpful:

The Kingdom of God on Earth

I hope you have found this helpful.

God bless,