Bible Questions and Answers

Browse all the questions that have been asked at and see their answers, read the most recent questions and answers, or have a look at some prepared questions and answers on key Bible themes.

The prophets who have books named after them in the Bible are usually divided into two groups, the Major and Minor prophets.

The Major Prophets:  Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, Daniel
The Minor Prophets:  Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi.
However, these distinctions are artificial. The Minor Prophets are only called "Minor" because their prophecies tend to be much shorter than the "Major" prophets.  Even in this, the division is not consistent because Daniel is much shorter than the "big three" Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekiel. No message from God should be characterized as "Major" or "Minor."
I hope you have found this helpful.
God bless!