Bible Questions and Answers

Browse all the questions that have been asked at and see their answers, read the most recent questions and answers, or have a look at some prepared questions and answers on key Bible themes.

What are the first five books of the Bible called?

Is there a special name for this section of scripture?

The first five books of the Bible (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy) are often called the Pentateuch.

This name comes from the Greek and means ‘five volumes’.

They are also called the Law (of Moses).

The Hebrew name for them is the Torah, which is the Hebrew word for ‘law’.

I hope you find this helpful.

God bless,